The Bloomingdale Neighborhood History Group promotes education and research on the history of the Bloomingdale neighborhood of New York City's Upper West Side from 96th to 110th Street between Central Park and Riverside Drive. For more than 300 years, the area has been referred to as Bloomingdale after the Netherlands town of Bloemendaal. The name, so much more poetic than "Upper West Side", is Dutch for "valley of flowers."
For information on the group's neighborhood history archives at the Bloomingdale Branch of the New York Public Library, click BNHG Library Collection.
The Bloomingdale Neighborhood History Group began in 2000 and was originally called the Park West Neighborhood History Group.
This Victorian Gothic building at West 103rd Street and Amsterdam Avenue was built in 1883 as the Association Residence for Respectable Aged Indigent Females. In 1990 it was renovated and became Hostelling International-New York, the city's first official youth hostel. Most of the BNHG's programs are held here.
In this summer of 2017 as we prepared for the solar eclipse on August 21, a reference to the 1925 eclipse in The New York Times and the importance of our Bloomingdale neighborhood inspired Pam Tice, planning committee member of the BNHG, to further research. To read the complete blog, click Mid-Manhattan Eclipse of 1925
Local writer Marjorie Cohen, planning committee member of the BNHG, explains that if you're interested in uncovering details about your own home—from when it was built, to what your neighborhood used to look like and who used to live there—the city has a surprising number of resources available for armchair history buffs. For a quick link to this blog, click Uncover History
October 22, 2017 (Sun) at 1:00
Meet at Hostelling International
891 Amsterdam Avenue
Explore the history of the Bloomingdale Neighborhood with local historian Jim Mackin.
For information click Events
Just two of the many hundreds of items in the BNHG files at the Bloomingdale Branch of the New York Public Library. On the left, one of a collection of photos in the "W.98th and 99th Street Old Community" file, and on the right from the same file, the cover of a 48-page booklet on Granville T. Woods, a prolific inventor of railway improvement devices and the first American of African ancestry to be a mechanical engineer after the Civil War.
Come to the library to explore the many items in this file and the 150 other files for yourself!
For more information, click BNHG Library Collection.
To read a blog compiled by Jim Mackin and Jim Torain on the Old Community, click Old Community
From the Bloomingdale Chronology
1821 The Bloomingdale Insane Asylum is opened on what is now the site of Columbia University. In 1834 an unused part of the Asylum property is transferred to the Leake and Watts Orphan Asylum, now the site of the Cathedral of St. John the Divine.
Gil Tauber, planning committee member of the BNHG, created the Bloomingdale Chronology for the Columbus/ Amsterdam BID. To read the entire blog, click Chronology.
To read local historian Jim Mackin's blog on the Bloomingdale Insane Asylum click Asylum